Fertile Ground Portland

A Festival of New Works Blog

What is Your Pulp Name? November 18, 2009

Filed under: the creative process — fertilegroundpdx @ 1:43 am
Tags: , , , ,

I just received my Pulp Diction: Informer– the hilarious e-news magazine that Pulp Stages organizer Matt Haynes has put together to help his project collaborators get to know each other and stay up to date on their projects.

My favorite part so far? The brief bios of the collaborators, along with their “Pulp Name” and “surprising facts.” It reads like a superhero support group. Its AWESOME.

ANNA SAHLSTROM (author of THE GO-GIRLS) is an actress and writer born and raised in Vancouver, WA. She attended Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles where she earned a BA in Theatre and a minor in Spanish. Anna also trained in the One-Year Acting Program for Post-Graduates and Professionals at Drama Studio London where The Go-Girls had its first reading. Additionally, she attended the Playwrights’ Cornucopia workshop at CSU Summer Arts. Anna recently originated the role of Betta in the musical Rejected No More with Trueheart Productions. This is the first play she has written.

Pulp Name: Lady Katerina

Two surprising facts:
1. My friend and I were interviewed for a South Korean documentary about why Americans do community service.
2. I have magic toes. One day I accidentally cracked my little toe out of joint and I managed to pop it back into place. I can also pick things up with my toes.

My Pulp Story: I love X-Men so my pulp story would be X-Treme X-Men vol. 3: Invasion of Dimension X. It’s got unconditional love, self-sacrifice and great heroism: qualities I admire and would like to embody. It’s also beautifully drawn.

…………………………………………………………
BRAD BULCHUNOS (Author of DEATH WEARS FISHNETS) wrote for years as a newspaper reporter in Colorado and Oregon and, for a glimmering time, as a humor columnist before landing his current role at the homeless youth clinic Outside In. He continues to write and act in Portland. Recently he appeared as a lunatic ghost in Twilight Tales (Northwest Children’s Theater), a wiggly innkeeper in The Three Musketeers (Lakewood), and various roles in The Dining Room (North End Players). Previously he also performed on stages in Cannon Beach and Astoria, where a few of the short plays he wrote garnered audience acclaim in competition. He is thrilled to see Death Wears Fishnets debut as his first staged work in Portland.

PULP NAME: Fleen (This is a nickname of mine, vaguely suggestive of agility and stealth but perhaps also appealing as a kind of streamlined counterpart to my Lithuanian last name. But I like “Bolchunos” (pronounced “Bowl-CHOO-nos” well enough). My Google effort produced “William Ranging” — not bad!

TWO RANDOM OR SURPRISING FACTS:
– I once had the honor of meeting and interviewing The Godfather of Soul amid a series of stories about a bridge-naming contest in Steamboat Springs, Colorado, in which the winning entry was “The James Brown Soul Center of the Universe Bridge.”
-Probably my worst job was through a temporary agency years ago when I somehow wound up spending a day at a factory making gun parts. My own task was not horrible (scraping off the flashing from clips), but I grew a bit uneasy amid too many regular employees in the shadows near the loud, monstrous machinery (complete with black and yellow caution stripes) who had limb injuries or missing fingers.

MY PULP STORY:
The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler. I’m an abiding fan of the writings of Chandler and of Dashiell Hammett, too — as well as film versions of their work. My attempts at humor and parody are also meant as homage. (This was a tough category to pick just one — so many great movies and stories that might be considered pulp, depending on how it is defined, come to mind … among my favorite filmmakers alone are the Coen brothers, David Lynch, Alfred Hitchcock…).

……………………………………………………….
JASON FERTE (Author of ALBA) has worked his ass off in Portland theatre since the late 70s, but not so much the past ten years or so. Favorite memories: working the build/run of the West Coast premiere (non-Broadway produced, or maybe it was only the Portland first-run…?) of Chicago; stage managing Stan Foote’s very first kid’s show in town, Snow White at the Circus; designing lights for the opera Hansel and Gretel; and being honored with a Technical Achievement award for Something’s Afoot, all at the old Lake Oswego Community Theatre. Recent stints include stage managing the fifth season of Action/Adventure’s Fall of the House (love those guys!), producing/directing/designing the original musical Whatever Girl (co-written with the amazing Rachel Sakry) at Echo Theatre, and designing Dia de los Muertos at Miracle Theatre a few years back (love those guys too!).

PULP NAME: don’t think I have one, though I get called “asshole,” “fucker,” and “dickface” a lot (I work with homeless kids, comes with the territory, though to be fair some think I’m the bees’ knees on my good days).

Two facts: I’ve seen every James Bond film on the big screen (some I’ve regretted seeing…); and, I write by making the shit up as I go – if I think too far ahead it starts coming out all stilted and fake and I have to backtrack and find my correct free-wheelin’ groove again, weird but it works for me.

Pulp story: don’t know what that is, I generally don’t like being someone else so I’ll just be me.

………………………………………………………..
RICH RUBIN (Author of HAMLET IN HIDING)’s plays have been performed at multiple theaters in the U. S. and abroad.

NICKNAME: Short Rich Rubin (so people won’t confuse me with Tall Matt Haynes)

RANDOM/UNUSUAL FACTS:

I (mis)spent my youth in Bay Ridge, the Brooklyn neighborhood John Travolta made forever famous in Saturday Night Fever.
I once dated a woman who’d lived next door to Tonto, the Lone Ranger’s trusted companion in varmint-vanquishing.

PULP STORY: Martin McDonagh’s Leenane trilogy, the blast that shed the light

…………………………………………………………..
STEVE PATTERSON (author of THE REWRITE MAN) has written over 50 plays, with works staged in Portland, Los Angeles, Chicago, Detroit, Austin, Tampa, and other U.S. cities as well as in Canada and New Zealand. His works include Waiting on Sean Flynn, Malaria, Altered States of America, Turquoise and Obsidian, Bombardment, Delusion of Darkness, and The Centering (with Chris Harder). In 2008, his play Liberation was published by Original Works Publishing. In 2008, his play Lost Wavelengths won the Oregon Book Award. He is a member of the Dramatists Guild of America.

………………………………………………………..
BRIAN ALLARD (PR and Director of THE REWRITE MAN) is the Artistic Director and Founder of the Original Practice Shakespeare Festival. Brian has comes to Portland via Minneapolis, London and New York, but is now very happy to call Oregon home. His training has taken many courses, from London’s Globe to the New England Shakespeare Festival. During his time in New York, Brian appeared off-Broadway as Caliban in The Tempest and Romney Leigh in Aurora Leigh. Since coming to PDX, he played in the US Premeire of Tales of Ordinary Madness in the lead role of Peter with CoHo Productions, clucked around as Allen in bobrauschenbergamerica at Portland Playhouse, and proudly appeared as Mr. Darcy in Pride and Prejudice with Quintessence.

……………………………………………………………
MICKI SELVITELLA (Director of THE GO-GIRLS) is a director and educator. She has served as Education Director at Portland Center Stage, Artistic Director of Pittsburgh New Voices, and Director of Student Education for the Great Lakes Theater Festival. She has taught at several universities around the country, including Pacific University (Director of Theatre Department), Northern Arizona University (Interim Director of Opera Theatre), Carnegie Mellon Summer Institute, PSU, and PCC. As a director, favorite past projects include Boston Marriage and Stones in His Pockets (CoHo Productions), Amateurs (Next Step Theatre, Seattle); and Terra Nova (Ohio University). Lately, Micki has been spending time screenwriting, and is working on a web series. A native Bostonian, she is a graduate of the Yale School of Drama, and holds an MFA in Directing from Ohio University. She is the recipient of an SDCF Observership (Intiman Theatre, Seattle), and is a Fulbright scholar (Taiwan, China).

What are you doing to create community with your project collaborators? Got ideas to share?

Fertile Ground Website || Buy Festival Passes

 

Leave a Reply

